County Board Election Lineup

Written by Jeff Johnson on June 5, 2012. Posted in General

Filing for offices in Minnesota ended at 5:00 p.m. today.  You can see who filed for all offices at the Minnesota Secretary of State’s site.

Here on the county board, there are five seats up for election: Districts 1, 2, 5, 6 and 7.

In District One, incumbent commissioner Mike Opat has two opponents: Chris Rains and Joy Marsh Stephens.  The top two vote-getters from this three in the primary will advance to the general election.

District Two is an open seat after the retirement of Mark Stenglein last week.  Ten candidates will be on the primary ballot: Leslie Davis, Steve Dehler, Rolf Erickson, Linda Higgins, Tonia Johnson, Kathleen Murdock, Paula Pentel, Don Samuels, Roger Smithrud and Blong Yang.  Again, the top two in the primary will move on to the general election.

In District Five, incumbent Randy Johnson is being challenged by Jim Koepke.

In District Six, incumbent Jan Callison is being challenged by Dave Wahlstedt.

I did not draw a challenger in District Seven, so unless I do something really, really stupid, I should be back next year.

Let the fun begin…

Be Sociable, Share!